Languages

The Château de Tigny is on the banks of the river Sornin, near the legendary Devil’s Bridge (Pont du Diable) and the medieval town of Charlieu founded by the Benedictine monks and also well know by the gourmets for its food specialities (pralines and andouilles).

Those who built the Château de Tigny kept the exact date of its construction a secret , however the oldest known lords belong to the Des Fourniers family of which Pierre des Fourniers, Lord of Tigny was Lieutenant-Lord (Capitaine-Châtelain) of CHARLIEU under the reign of François the First in 1528.

The present owners offer charming guestrooms and a place for carp fishing in no kill.

 

 

 ( Click on the photographs to lengthen them )

 Abbaye-Charlieu-3 image large CHARLIEU-5-